Mental health links

 

For more information on Depression

https://cmha.bc.ca/documents/depression-2/

https://www.camh.ca/en/health-info/mental-illness-and-addiction-index/depression

http://depressionhurts.ca/en/default.aspx

What is depression?- https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/chronic-diseases/mental-illness/what-depression.html

Depression and How Therapy Can Help https://www.apa.org/topics/depress/recover.aspx

Suicide prevention and support - https://www.crisisservicescanada.ca/en/

Suicide Prevention - https://www.mentalhealthcommission.ca/English/what-we-do/suicide-prevention

For more information on Anxiety

Anxiety Information - https://www.academyofct.org/anxiety-disorders/

Anxiety in Adults - https://www.anxietycanada.com/learn-about-anxiety/anxiety-in-adults/

ANXIETY AND YOUTH- http://www.anxietydisordersontario.ca/anxiety-resource-centre/anxiety-and-youth/

Anxiety Disorders - https://cmha.bc.ca/documents/anxiety-disorders/

 

For more information on Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Canadian Government ADHD Information – https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/adhd/

Understanding ADHD - https://caddac.ca/adhd/understanding-adhd/in-general/

Totally ADD - www.totallyadd.com

Personal ADHD stories of Adults with ADHD- www.caddac.ca/cms/CADDAC_pdf/Events/AwarenessWk2012/AdultADHD_Stories_co...

 

For more information on PTSD and Trauma

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in Canada - https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/post-traumatic-stress-disorder-ptsd-in-canada

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder explained - https://www.anxietycanada.com/disorders/post-traumatic-stress-disorder/

Making the links: Violence, trauma and mental health - http://www.cwhn.ca/en/node/41607

 

For more information on Substance Use and Addiction

Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction http://www.ccsa.ca/Eng/Pages/default.aspx

Gone too Soon http://www.bccsu.ca/gone-too-soon-canada-english/

What is addiction? https://www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/addiction/what-is-addiction

When Mental Health and Substance Abuse Problems Collide https://www.ccsa.ca/when-mental-health-and-substance-abuse-problems-collide-topic-summary

Mental Illness and Addiction - https://www.camh.ca/en/driving-change/the-crisis-is-real/mental-health-statistics

Codeine Misuse - https://addictionrehabtreatment.com/drugs/prescription/opiates/codeine/

Overdose Statistics - https://rehabaid.com/overdose-statistics/

 

For more information on Eating Disorders

Types of Eating Disorders - https://nedic.ca/eating-disorders-treatment/

Questions and Answers on Eating Disorders - https://nied.ca/q-a/

https://cmha.bc.ca/documents/eating-disorders-3/

 

For more info on Child Abuse and Domestic Violence

What is family violence? – https://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/cj-jp/fv-vf/about-apropos.html

Child Abuse and neglect - https://cwrp.ca/child-abuse-neglect

Gender-Based Violence, Sexual Assault, and Domestic Violence – https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/safety/public-

 

For more information on Life Challenges

Menopause and Perimenopause - https://www.healthlinkbc.ca/health-topics/hw228763

Teen mental health http://teenmentalhealth.org/

Mental illness and parenting https://raisingchildren.net.au/grown-ups/family-diversity/parents-like-me/parenting-with-mental-illness

Canadian Centre for Gender and Sexual Diversity http://ccgsd-ccdgs.org/

Post-secondary education and mental health https://mentalhealth.csmls.org/i-am-a-student/

Substance use and alcool https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/substance-use-and-mental-health/index.shtml

Wellness and aging https://ccsmh.ca/wellness-in-aging/

Canadian Associations & Institutes

Canadian Mental Health Association http://www.cmha.ca/

College of Registered Psychotherapists of Ontario https://www.crpo.ca/

Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association https://www.ccpa-accp.ca/

Canadian Psychological Association https://cpa.ca/

Mental Health Commission Of Canada https://mentalhealthcommission.ca/

 

Journals

Canadian Journal of Community Mental Health https://www.cjcmh.com/

Canadian Journal of Counselling and Psychotherapy https://cjc-rcc.ucalgary.ca/

Journal of Mental Health and Aging http://www.tandf.co.uk/journals/titles/13607863.asp

Journal of Sex & Marital Therapy http://www.tandf.co.uk/journals/titles/0092623X.html

Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology http://journals.humankinetics.com/JSEP

Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment https://www.elsevier.com/inca/publications/store/5/2/5/4/7/5/

 

Mental Health General Links

Psychology Today https://www.psychologytoday.com/ca

Psych Central https://psychcentral.com/

GoodTherapy.org http://www.goodtherapy.org/

Mental Illnesses/Disorders http://mentalhealth.samhsa.gov/links/default2.asp?ID=Mental+Illnesses%2FDisorders&Topic=Mental+Illnesses%2FDisorders